Skip to content

The house that Sven built

November 7, 2010

Next Tuesday will mark three weeks since I moved into my apartment in Lyon. In that time, I have acquired the following necessities:

  1. Gas. Since the previous tenant’s contract had expired in September, when I moved in the gas had been switched off. This required me to use up an entire €20 phone voucher to call two different gas companies, set up accounts with each of them, and organise for someone to come out and turn the gas back on. A week of no hot water (and therefore no showers), no heating and no cooking ensued before a technician was available to rock up for 5 minutes to turn the gas on.
  2. Internet. Oh how connected we have become. Being offline for a week (excluding the occasional trip to a cafe with wifi) was close to unbearable. The sheer disconnect I felt from the world shows just how reliant I have become on the internet. I shall never take small things like consulting Google Maps to find a post office for granted again.
  3. Finally, and the reason for the title, furnishings composed entire of IKEA stuff.

My apartment has indeed become the house that Sven built. Or at least, the house that Sven provided the pieces for and I assembled with an Allen key. Saucepans, cutlery, plates, bowls, cups, glasses, cooking utensils, a chair, tea towels and a couch…all of this came straight from that Swedish warehouse of maze-like proportions.

But as I sat on my couch, watching TV on my laptop, beer perched safely on my Lack table, I came to the realisation that my apartment was complete. Now, it feels like home.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 8:35 am

    Tihi. This made me want to quote Fightclub at you.

Leave a Reply

