Skip to content

Fry-up

June 4, 2010

I read an article by Stephen Fry recently in which he wrote a letter to his 16-year-old self. Feeling that I too should like to embark on an interesting, albeit essentially pointless and rather self-indulgent, exercise, I thus present a slight variation: a letter to my future self (long may he reign).

Dearest Tim,

Ah, you were once so young! And now look at you! Rather than take the easy, Back to the Future-esque way out, I’m going to assume there are still no jetpacks or hoverboards and petrol is now expensive as all hell…if one still owns a petrol-fuelled car. Fortunately for you, you own a hydrogen-fuelled car: cheap to run and emitting only water (which ironically has become scarce), they have drastically cut carbon emissions. Pity it’s too late for that now…

How’s the job going? Would you believe- actually, of course you would. Remember how when you were me (and still are) you wanted to be a teacher? And then enter the public service? I am curious as to how all that turned out for you. What are you doing now? Did you ever stop teaching? Drop us a line would you, old boy? If you have suggestions for what I should be doing I’d be happy to hear them.

Pleasantries aside, I do sincerely hope you are well. Eating right? Exercising? Got a girl in your life? Because at the end of the day, that is all I ever want for you. The first two as well I suppose, but the third is the most important. If you find yourself giggling and rolling amongst piles of bank notes, then good for you. I also have faith in your choice of luxury car (we are men of taste, are we not?). However, as much as I am infuriated by it now, and often have been, in the end it is love that is everything.

If all has gone to plan as I envision it, at some point you embarked on an Amélie-like romance and now find yourself utterly smitten with the girl of your dreams. Yes, as cliché and as trite as it sounds, I genuinely hope that you have found yourself with a dreamer just like us. But, my dear boy, this is the real world after all, and you know all too well the dichotomy of pragmatist and romantic that you embody (unless of course, you have managed to resolve that by now…). This is not to say it hasn’t happened of course, but I just hope that you don’t find yourself wondering. So long as you’re happy, I’m happy. And that’s all that matters, isn’t it?

Kind regards,
Tim

P.S. Have you published something yet?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

